WoW news

Sepulcher of the First Ones Raid Testing Schedule – December 16th-17th

Sepulcher of the First Ones Raid Testing Schedule – December 16th-17th

Originally Posted by Blizzard
(Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
This week we will be continuing our raid testing in the Sepulcher of the First Ones.

Thursday, December 16th

Halondrus the Reclaimer – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
13:00 PST (16:00 EST, 22:00 CET)

Prototype Pantheon – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
14:00 PST (17:00 EST, 23:00 CET)

Friday, December 17th

Anduin Wrynn – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
13:00 PST (16:00 EST, 22:00 CET)

Vigilant Guardian – Heroic Sepulcher of the First Ones
14:00 PST (17:00 EST, 23:00 CET)

As always, this testing schedule is very fluid and subject to the realities of a test environment. We might have to change the time of a testing session, change the bosses being tested, or cancel a test entirely, due to bugs, server hardware issues, etc. Keep an eye on this forum for the latest information, and thank you in advance for testing and providing feedback.

Q: How do I get into the raid zone?
A: In Oribos, Dalaran, Orgrimmar, or Stormwind, you may speak to Nexus-Lord Donjon Rade IV in order to teleport into the raid zone while it is open for testing. (The option to teleport into a zone will not be available when the zone is not open for testing.)

Q: What character should I use to test the raid?
A: Whichever you prefer. We will be scaling players’ effective level to 60 for raid testing, and their item level to an appropriate threshold for the encounter(s) being tested.

Q: How long does testing last?
A: The primary purpose of testing is to give us the information we need to balance the encounters, evaluate how mechanics are playing out in practice, and identify bugs. Once we’re satisfied that we’ve received that information for a given boss, we’ll be shutting down testing. Usually this takes anywhere from 45 minutes to 2 hours, but there are no guarantees.

We appreciate you taking the time to test our content and look forward to reading your feedback.

Blizzard on PTR Testing

Originally Posted by Blizzard
(Blue Tracker / Official Forums)
This is super fair feedback and something we’ve talked about previously.

To understand the problem, we need to take a step back and talk about how we do PTR testing:

  • The week prior to a PTR test, we confirm which bosses are ready for testing and ask their designers to have them in a stable & testable state by the end of the week.
  • The weekend before a PTR test, we generate a new build to use for testing.
  • While bugs are to be expected on PTR, we want to ensure a baseline level of stability so that we’re not wasting players’ time. This is where QA comes in and they do a great job finding any bugs that could interfere with testing.
  • Once we’ve fixed any major issues & have QA’s blessing, we put the new build on the PTR and post our announcement for raid testing.
  • The challenge comes in with that last part – sometimes the problems we find are serious enough that they can take multiple days to fix or might prevent raid testing that week entirely. An example might be something like: “there are invisible holes in the floor all over the raid”. This is why we wait until we’re pretty certain a test will happen before announcing it.

That being said we do know what we “want to” test by the start of the week, and we could announce that sooner, but it’d come with a significant risk of plans being changed or canceled later in the week. The question then becomes: “would it be OK to announce a test earlier, have players plan to attend, and then cancel it later if we discover a problem that would prevent testing?”

I’d want to discuss with the team before promising any changes to how we do things, but I’m curious to hear your thoughts on this based on the information above.