WoW news

Shadowlands Leveling Changes and Level Squish Overview

Shadowlands Leveling Changes and Level Squish
The pre-expansion patch will squish levels and make significant changes to leveling in World of Warcraft.

Shadowlands Level Squish
A level squish will be applied with the pre-expansion patch. Your level will be reduced, with a Battle for Azeroth cap of Level 50 and an eventual Shadowlands cap of Level 60.

Expansion Level in BFA Level in Shadowlands
Vanilla 60 25
The Burning Crusade 70 27
Wrath of the Lich King 80 30
Cataclysm 85 32
Mists of Pandaria 90 35
Warlords of Draenor 100 40
Legion 110 45
Battle for Azeroth 120 50

Level in BFA Level in Shadowlands Level in BFA Level in Shadowlands
1 1 64-67 26
2-4 2 68-71 27
5-7 3 72-75 28
8-9 4 76-79 29
10-11 5 80-81 30
12-13 6 82-83 31
14-15 7 84-85 32
16-17 8 86-87 33
18-19 9 88-89 34
20-22 10 90-91 35
23-25 11 92-93 36
26-28 12 94-95 37
29-30 13 96-97 38
32-34 14 98-99 39
35-36 15 100-101 40
37-38 16 102-103 41
39-40 17 104-105 42
41-42 18 106-107 43
43-44 19 108-109 44
45-47 20 110-111 45
48-50 21 112-113 46
52-53 22 114-115 47
54-56 23 116-117 48
57-59 24 118-119 49
60-63 25 120 50

Heirloom Changes and New Set Bonuses
The new leveling system also brings a few changes to heirlooms. Since players will now level twice as fast as before, the XP bonus has been removed from all heirlooms.

Heirloom armor, necklaces and rings will now form the Regalia of Fabled Adventurers, a heirloom set with unique bonuses.

Regalia of Fabled Adventurers Armor Pieces

Regalia of Fabled Adventurers Set Bonuses

  • Maximizing Rests (2 Set) – Rested experience consumed is reduced by 30%.
  • Battlefield Resourcefulness (3 Set) – Increases your out-of-combat regeneration in the outdoors, normal dungeons and battlegrounds.
  • Flash of Brilliance (5 Set) – Gaining a level triggers Burst of Knowledge, dealing Holy damage to nearby enemies and granting you 40% Primary Stat for 2 min. Defeating enemies extends this effect, up to an additional 2 min.
  • Maximizing Rests (6 Set) – Rested experience consumed is reduced by 30%.

New Starting Experience
New players to World of Warcraft will start their adventure in Exile’s Reach. Veteran players can choose to opt out of this zone and complete the starting experience for their race.

Upon reaching Level 10, players receive the quest Tides of War (Alliance) or Mission Statement (Horde) to start leveling in Battle for Azeroth. Veteran players have an additional option to level through Timewalking Campaigns by talking with Chromie in capital cities.

Chromie Timewalking Campaigns
Chromie Timewalking Campaigns is a new feature that lets players level their characters from 10 to 50 through any zone and expansion from Vanilla to Legion.

This feature is available only to veteran players that have already leveled a character to 50. New players to the game will have to level a character from 10 to 50 through Battle for Azeroth to unlock this feature.

Originally Posted by MMO-Champion

The Cataclysm

The people of the Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimdor are fighting to survive after the events of the Cataclysm that occurred after Deathwing’s reemergence.

Aid Azeroth’s many civilizations in the wake of the aftermath of the Shattering.

Portal to Outland

The Dark Portal to Outland has opened once again, and heroes are needed to answer the call and step bravely onto the shattered world of the orcs.

Conquer this ancient and dying world and stop the Burning Legion from invading Azeroth!

Fall of the Lich King

The frozen wastes of Northrend is where the Lich King, previously known as Arthas Menethil, resides, sending his undead forces to destroy all life on Azeroth.

Answer the Argent Crusade’s call to disrupt Arthas’s plans, and put his undead scourge on ice!

Wilds of Pandaria

Untouched by war for over 10,000 years, the Horde and Alliance are at war after the disappearance of the White Pawn, but a dark secret lives within the earth. The factions of Azeroth ignored the pandaren’s warnings that emotions manifest in dangerous ways in their mystic land.

Pierce the mists and explore the beauty of Pandaria!

The Iron Horde

Garrosh Hellscream has opened the Dark Portal yet again, allowing the Iron Horde to pour forth from Draenor and march against our world.

Establish your garrison and fight alongside the great orcs and draenei of lore!

The Legion Invasion

Powerful Artifact weapons and a foothold to launch strategic strikes in the Broken Isles with your order will be required to stop the Burning Legion’s invasion on Azeroth.

Claim your weapon, establish your order hall, and stop the demonic assault on our world!

Death Knights and Demon Hunters Changes
Beside the Level Squish mentioned above, there are several changes coming to Death Knights and Demon Hunters in Shadowlands.

  • To unlock Death Knights and Demon Hunters, players have to finish the Exile’s Reach starting experience and reach Level 10.
  • Death Knights start at Level 8 (instead of Level 58) and have to go through their starting experience in Eastern Plaguelands.
  • Allied Race Death Knights start at Level 10 (instead of Level 60) and have to swear fealty to The Lich King in Icecrown Citadel.
  • Demon Hunters start at Level 8 (instead of Level 98) and have to go through their starting experience in Mardum.
  • Upon completing the starting experience of the hero class, players can continue to level their character in Battle for Azeroth or through a Timewalking Campaign (if unlocked).

Shadowlands Riding and Flying Changes
To accommodate the Leveling Changes and Level Squish mentioned above, Riding and Flying Skills are getting a few quality of life changes in Shadowlands!

Riding Rank Riding Type Mount Speed Required Level Cost
Apprentice Riding Ground 60% Level 10 1
Journeyman Riding Ground 100% Level 20 50
Expert Riding Flying 150% Level 30 250
Master Riding Flying 310% Level 40 5000